Tesla
The best portable EV charger for a Tesla
A Tesla can use a portable with its own NACS plug, or any J1772 portable through the adapter that comes with the car. Which one makes sense depends on who else will ever use it.
By Sawyer V. · Published September 10, 2026

How this page is funded: we earn a commission if you buy through our Amazon links, at no extra cost to you. It does not change what we recommend, and we say plainly when the honest answer is to buy nothing. Full disclosure.
Most Tesla owners charge at home on a wall unit. A portable is for everything else: a rental without a charger, a second home, a family visit, a long trip. The question is whether to buy one with a Tesla plug, or a J1772 unit and use the adapter.
Portable picks for a Tesla
Ranked for a first home charger. Every row jumps to the full write-up below.
| # | Product | Best for | Max output | Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Lectron Portable Level 2 Tesla EV Charger (40 A)A Tesla-only portable. NACS. | A Tesla-only portable | 40 A9.6 kW | Check price on Amazon#ad how we are funded |
| 2 | Lectron Portable Level 1 & 2 Tesla NACS EV ChargerLevel 1 and Level 2 in one. NACS. | Level 1 and Level 2 in one | 40 A9.6 kW | Check price on Amazon#ad how we are funded |
| 3 | J+ Booster 2The best portable overall. J1772, 25 ft cable. | The best portable overall | 40 A9.6 kW | Check price on Amazon#ad how we are funded |
NACS, or J1772 plus the adapter
| Portable | Connector | Output | Plugs |
|---|---|---|---|
| Lectron Portable Level 2 Tesla | NACS | 40 A / 9.6 kW | NEMA 14-50 |
| Lectron Portable Level 1 & 2 Tesla | NACS | 8-12 A at 120 V; 16-40 A at 240 V | NEMA 5-15 and 14-50 |
| J+ Booster 2 | J1772, via the Tesla's adapter | Up to 40 A / 9.6 kW | NEMA 14-50 and 5-15 adapters included |
- Buy NACS if only Teslas will ever use it. Nothing to remember, nothing to lose.
- Buy J1772 if a non-Tesla might borrow it, or you might sell the Tesla before the charger. It works on both, through the adapter. Which adapter does what.
How fast, realistically
A portable on the two outlets you will actually meet
NEMA 14-50 at 40 A: 40 x 240 V = 9.6 kW, about 34 miles of range per hour at 3.5 mi/kWh
Standard 120 V outlet at 12 A: 1.44 kW, about 5 miles per hour
Your Tesla's trip computer shows its real efficiency -- use that figure instead
The portables in detail
Two native NACS units and one J1772 unit, each with the case against it.
1. A Tesla-only portable
Lectron Portable Level 2 Tesla EV Charger (40 A)
Lectron · NACS · 40 A / 9.6 kW
A 40-amp portable with a native NACS connector, so it plugs straight into a Tesla. Sold with or without Wi-Fi, and Lectron publishes UL 2594 / UL 2231 certification.
What is good
- Native NACS connector -- nothing between the plug and a Tesla
- 40 A, the most a 14-50 on a 50 A circuit supplies continuously
- Published UL 2594 / UL 2231 certification
- Choice of an app or a no-app version
What is not
- NACS only -- a J1772 car needs an adapter
- Cable length is not stated on the product page we could read
- Needs a 14-50 on a 50 A circuit to run at 40 A
| Output | 40 A / 9.6 kW at 240 V |
|---|---|
| Connector | NACS (Tesla) |
| Plug | NEMA 14-50 |
| Versions | Wi-Fi with the Lectron app, or plug-and-play |
| Certification | UL 2594 / UL 2231, per Lectron |
Skip this if: Skip it if a non-Tesla might ever borrow it. A J1772 portable plus the Tesla's adapter serves both.
Specifications above are the manufacturer’s published figures. Source: Lectron. We have not tested this unit — see how we pick.
2. Level 1 and Level 2 in one
Lectron Portable Level 1 & 2 Tesla NACS EV Charger
Lectron · NACS · 40 A / 9.6 kW
One NACS portable for a standard outlet and a 14-50: 8 to 12 A on 120 V, 16 to 40 A on 240 V, with switchable plugs. The most flexible single unit for a Tesla on the move.
What is good
- Runs from a standard outlet and a 14-50 with the same unit
- Adjustable current, so it can be turned down for a weaker circuit
- Published UL 2594 / UL 2231 certification
What is not
- NACS only -- a J1772 car needs an adapter
- On 120 V it is still Level 1: about 5 miles of range per hour at best
- Cable length is not stated on the product page we could read
| Level 1 (120 V) | 8 to 12 A / 0.96 to 1.44 kW |
|---|---|
| Level 2 (240 V) | 16 to 40 A / 3.84 to 9.6 kW |
| Connector | NACS (Tesla) |
| Plugs | Switchable NEMA 5-15 and NEMA 14-50 |
| Certification | UL 2594 / UL 2231, per Lectron |
Skip this if: Skip it if a non-Tesla might use it -- it is NACS only -- or if you will only ever charge on 240 V.
Specifications above are the manufacturer’s published figures. Source: Lectron. We have not tested this unit — see how we pick.
3. The best portable overall
J+ Booster 2
J+ Americas · J1772 · 40 A / 9.6 kW · 25 ft cable
A 40 A portable in a military-grade aluminum body, ETL certified to UL standards and IP67 rated, weighing 2.2 lb without cables. The portable that behaves like a wall unit.
What is good
- 40 A, matching many wall-mounted units
- Eight amperage settings from 6 A to 40 A, so it fits almost any outlet
- Adapters for a wide range of outlets, including NEMA TT-30 for campgrounds
- IP67 and drive-over resistant, which portables usually are not
- 2.2 lb without cables, so it genuinely travels
What is not
- Costs more than most portables, and more than some wall units
- Every extra outlet adapter is a separate purchase
- Still a portable, so it is not rated for permanent outdoor mounting
| Maximum output | 40 A / 9.6 kW at 240 V |
|---|---|
| Adjustable | 6, 8, 12, 16, 20, 24, 32 or 40 A |
| Power range | 1.4 kW to 9.6 kW |
| Connector | SAE J1772 |
| Cable | 21 ft or 25 ft, depending on version |
| Adapters included | NEMA 14-50 and 5-15 |
| Further adapters available | 5-20, 6-15, 6-20, 6-50, TT-30 |
| Weight | 2.2 lb without cables; 7 lb with cables and adapters |
| Body | Military-grade aluminum, drive-over resistant to 6,600 lb wheel loads |
| Rating | IP67 waterproof and dustproof |
| Certification | ETL certified to UL standards |
Skip this if: Skip it if you only ever charge in one place. A hardwired wall unit is cheaper for a fixed installation.
Specifications above are the manufacturer’s published figures. Source: J+ Americas. We have not tested this unit — see how we pick.
What we would do
A single-Tesla household that wants one portable for trips: the Lectron Level 1 & 2, because it handles both a standard outlet and a 14-50 without extra adapters. A household where other cars might borrow it: the J+ Booster 2 and the Tesla's adapter. For charging at home every night, a wall unit is still the better answer -- chargers for a Tesla.
FAQ
Questions people actually ask
What is the best portable charger for a Tesla?
Can I use a J1772 portable charger on a Tesla?
How fast is a portable Level 2 charger on a Tesla?
Sources
Where these numbers come from
- Lectron Portable Level 2 Tesla EV Charger, 240 V, 40 A, NEMA 14-50 — LectronOutput, NACS connector, NEMA 14-50 plug, app and no-app versions, UL 2594 / UL 2231 certification. Fetched 2026-09-10.
- Lectron Portable Level 1 & 2 Tesla NACS EV Charger, 120 V and 240 V, 8-40 A — LectronLevel 1 and Level 2 current ranges, NEMA 5-15 and 14-50 plugs, UL 2594 / UL 2231 certification. Fetched 2026-09-10.
- J+ Booster 2 Level 2 portable EV charger — J+ Booster
- NEC Article 625: EV charging equipment — WireRefContinuous-load rule behind every circuit figure on this page.
Read next
Related reading
- The best home charger for a TeslaWall Connector, Universal, or a J1772 unit with the included adapter -- and how to choose.
- The best portable EV chargersPortable Level 2 chargers for renters and travelers, with the honest case for buying none.
- The best dual-voltage portable EV chargersPortables that run from a standard outlet and a 240 V outlet, and how fast each one really is.
- The best J1772 adaptersWhich J1772 adapter direction you need, which came free with the car, and the safety rules.