Skip to content
Plug & Pylon

Cadillac

The best home charger for a Cadillac EV

One question settles this, and it is not about the charger. Cadillac sells most of its EVs with either an 11 kW or a 19 kW onboard charger, and the answer changes what you should buy by a factor of two.

By Sawyer V. · Published October 7, 2026

A black Cadillac Escalade SUV from an earlier generation, parked under trees
Illustrative photo.

How this page is funded: we earn a commission if you buy through our Amazon links, at no extra cost to you. It does not change what we recommend, and we say plainly when the honest answer is to buy nothing. Full disclosure.

Most pages about charging a Cadillac start with the charger. That is the wrong end. Cadillac offers two different onboard chargers across the Lyriq, Optiq and Vistiq, and the car -- not the wall unit -- sets the ceiling. Buy an 80-amp charger for an 11 kW car and you have paid for a 100-amp circuit that delivers 11 kW. Buy a 32-amp charger for a 19 kW car and you have thrown away most of what you paid for the option.

Which onboard charger does your Cadillac have?

The EPA rates the two versions as separate vehicles and names the charger in the trim, which makes this unusually easy to check. These are the published 2026 figures, with the consumption number that every calculation below uses:

2026 Cadillac EVs, as rated by the EPA
TrimOnboard chargerkWh per 100 miEPA range
Optiq RWD11 kW or 19 kW32317 mi
Optiq AWD11 kW or 19 kW34303 mi
Lyriq11 kW or 19 kW37326 mi
Lyriq PAWDNot stated by the EPA38319 mi
Lyriq AWDNot stated by the EPA40303 mi
Vistiq11 kW or 19 kW39305 mi
CelestiqNot stated by the EPA42303 mi
Source: fueleconomy.gov, 2026 model year, read 2026-10-07. The EPA publishes no entry for the Escalade IQ, so no consumption figure for it appears on this site. If your trim is one of the rows marked "not stated", the window sticker and the charging screen in the car are the places to look.

What each charger tier actually delivers

Miles of range added per hour of charging

Charger output in kW = amps x 240 V / 1,000. So 48 A = 11.5 kW and 80 A = 19.2 kW.

Miles per hour = charger kW / (kWh per 100 miles) x 100.

A Lyriq at 37 kWh/100 mi on an 11 kW onboard charger: 11 / 37 x 100 = about 30 miles per hour.

The same Lyriq with the 19 kW charger: 19 / 37 x 100 = about 51 miles per hour.

Miles added per hour, by trim and onboard charger
TrimWith the 11 kW chargerWith the 19 kW charger
Optiq RWD (32 kWh/100 mi)about 34 mi/habout 59 mi/h
Optiq AWD (34)about 32 mi/habout 56 mi/h
Lyriq (37)about 30 mi/habout 51 mi/h
Vistiq (39)about 28 mi/habout 49 mi/h
Lyriq AWD (40)about 28 mi/habout 48 mi/h
Celestiq (42)about 26 mi/habout 45 mi/h
Calculated from the EPA consumption figures in the table above. The 19 kW column only applies if your car actually has that option -- and it needs an 80 A charger on a 100 A circuit to reach it.

Read the 11 kW column again with a normal week in mind. Thirty miles per hour over a ten-hour overnight window is 300 miles, which is a full Lyriq battery. The faster column is not solving a problem most owners have. The Department of Energy puts typical Level 2 charging at roughly 25 miles of range per hour, and that is already enough for almost everyone.

The connector: CCS for most, NACS on the Optiq

The Lyriq, Vistiq and Escalade IQ carry a CCS inlet, and the top of a CCS inlet is a J1772 socket -- so an ordinary J1772 home charger plugs straight in with no adapter. The 2026 Optiq and Optiq-V are the first GM models to ship with a native NACS port as standard, and the Optiq comes with a CCS adapter. For NACS cars, either buy a NACS charger or use the adapter on a J1772 unit.

  • Lyriq, Vistiq, Escalade IQ: CCS inlet. Buy a J1772 charger. No adapter.
  • 2026 Optiq and Optiq-V: native NACS port. Buy a NACS charger, or a J1772 charger plus the CCS adapter that came with the car.
  • Not sure? Look at your charge port to be sure -- it is the only authoritative answer for your car. Plug types.

Which charger to buy

The decision in one row
Your situationBuy thisCircuit
11 kW onboard charger (most Cadillacs)A 48 A J1772 charger60 A
19 kW onboard charger and a 200 A panel with roomAn 80 A hardwired charger100 A
19 kW charger but a 100 or 150 A panelA 48 A charger. The panel decides.60 A
2026 Optiq (NACS port)A NACS charger, or J1772 plus the car's adapter60 A
Renting, or moving within two yearsA 40 A plug-in charger on a 14-5050 A
A charger draws its rated current continuously, so the breaker is sized at 125% of it: 40 A needs a 50 A circuit, 48 A needs 60 A, 80 A needs 100 A. Breaker and wire size.

Before you commit to the 80-amp tier, check the panel rather than the catalogue. A 100-amp continuous circuit is more than most houses can give up without a service upgrade, and the upgrade usually costs more than the charger. The 80 A roundup works through that properly.

Chargers for a Cadillac

A 48 A unit for the 11 kW cars, the 80 A unit for a 19 kW car with the panel to feed it, and a plug-in 40 A option for anyone who may move. Prices are live from Amazon and carry the date they were read.

1. A first charger, hardwired

Emporia Level 2 EV Charger (Classic)

Emporia · J1772 · 48 A / 11.5 kW · 25 ft cable

The safe default for a first home charger: 48 amps hardwired, a genuinely long cable, a NEMA 4 outdoor-rated case, and no subscription attached to the app.

What is good

  • 48 A hardwired is the fastest tier most homes can realistically support
  • 25 ft of cable reaches across a two-car garage without a fight
  • NEMA Type 4 enclosure is rated for outdoor mounting
  • Energy monitoring in the app with no subscription

What is not

  • Drops to 40 A if you use the NEMA 14-50 plug rather than hardwiring
  • The app is the only way to change the amperage setting
Published specifications for the Emporia Level 2 EV Charger (Classic)
Maximum output48 A / 11.5 kW at 240 V (hardwired)
Plug-in output40 A with the NEMA 14-50 plug
ConnectorSAE J1772
Cable25 ft
EnclosureNEMA Type 4, indoor or outdoor
CertificationUL listed, Energy Star
Warranty3 years

Skip this if: Skip it if you want a unit with no app or network connection at all. The Grizzl-E Classic is the simpler machine.

Specifications above are the manufacturer’s published figures. Source: Emporia Energy. We have not tested this unit — see how we pick.

2. A 19.2 kW car and a large service

Grizzl-E Ultimate 80A

Grizzl-E Ultimate 80A

United Chargers · J1772 · 80 A / 19.2 kW · 25 ft cable

The top of AC Level 2: 80 A and 19.2 kW, hardwired, adjustable down through eight settings. The catch is the circuit -- 80 A continuous asks for a 100 A circuit, which most houses cannot spare.

What is good

  • 80 A / 19.2 kW is the ceiling of AC Level 2 charging
  • Eight current settings, from 80 A right down to 16 A, so one unit fits almost any circuit
  • 25 ft cable and a cast-aluminum UL Type 4 enclosure rated -22 F to 122 F
  • UL listed with a published file number, plus Energy Star certification
  • OCPP support alongside the maker's own app, which is rare at this price

What is not

  • 80 A continuous needs a 100 A circuit, which most homes cannot spare
  • Very few cars accept more than 11.5 kW on AC, so the headline figure is unusable for most buyers
  • Hardwired only -- there is no plug-in version
  • Costs far more than the 48 A tier that most households will actually use
  • 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi only, like the rest of the Grizzl-E Connect range
Published specifications for the Grizzl-E Ultimate 80A
Maximum output80 A / 19.2 kW
Adjustable80, 64, 56, 48, 40, 32, 24 or 16 A
ConnectorSAE J1772 or NACS, chosen at purchase
Cable25 ft (7.6 m)
InstallationHardwired only
EnclosureCast aluminum, UL Type 4 indoor/outdoor
Operating temperature-30 C to +50 C (-22 F to 122 F)
Enclosure size10.25 x 6.25 x 3.75 in
Weight26.46 lb (12 kg), shipped
ConnectivityWi-Fi (2.4 GHz), the Grizzl-E Connect app, and OCPP
Country of originCanada, per United Chargers
CertificationUL, file E510712; Energy Star
In the boxCharger, hardwire kit, mounting cradle, EasyEvPlug
Warranty3 years, or 5 years chosen at purchase

Skip this if: Skip it unless your car actually accepts more than 11.5 kW and your panel can carry a 100 A circuit. Both have to be true, and for most homes neither is.

Specifications above are the manufacturer’s published figures. Source: United Chargers. We have not tested this unit — see how we pick.

$899.00 · View on Amazon#ad how we are funded · price as of October 17, 2026

3. Long reach outdoors

Autel MaxiCharger AC Home

Autel MaxiCharger AC Home

Autel Energy · J1772 · 50 A / 12 kW · 25 ft cable

The 25 ft cable is the longest in this group, and the NEMA 4 case plus a cold-flexible cord make it the easiest unit to live with on an exposed outside wall.

What is good

  • 25 ft cable, the longest of the wall units here
  • Sold in NEMA 14-50, NEMA 6-50 and hardwired versions
  • NEMA Type 4 enclosure rated for rain, snow, hail and sleet
  • Wi-Fi and Bluetooth, so it still works if the Wi-Fi drops

What is not

  • The 50 A version is hardwired only
  • The app has more features than a first-time owner needs
Published specifications for the Autel MaxiCharger AC Home
Maximum output50 A / 12 kW hardwired; 40 A / 9.6 kW plug-in
ConnectorSAE J1772
Cable25 ft
EnclosureNEMA Type 4
CertificationTested to UL standards by CSA
Warranty3 years

Skip this if: Skip it if your parking spot is right next to the panel. You are paying for cable you will coil up and never use.

Specifications above are the manufacturer’s published figures. Source: Autel Energy. We have not tested this unit — see how we pick.

$375.99 · View on Amazon#ad how we are funded · price as of October 17, 2026

FAQ

Questions people actually ask

What size home charger does a Cadillac Lyriq need?
A 48 A charger on a 60 A circuit for the 11 kW onboard charger, which adds about 30 miles of range per hour at the Lyriq's EPA figure of 37 kWh per 100 miles. Only the 19 kW version can use an 80 A charger.
How do I tell whether my Cadillac has the 11 kW or 19 kW onboard charger?
Open the charging settings in the car and look at the maximum AC current it accepts: 48 A means 11 kW, 80 A means 19 kW. The EPA also rates them as separate trims and names the charger in the trim title.
Does a Cadillac Lyriq need a NACS charger?
No. The Lyriq has a CCS inlet, and a J1772 charger plugs straight into it. The 2026 Optiq is the first Cadillac with a native NACS port.
Is an 80 amp charger worth it for a Cadillac?
Only if your car has the 19 kW onboard charger and your panel can carry a 100 A continuous circuit. Both have to be true, and for most homes neither is.

Sources

Where these numbers come from

  1. Fuel Economy of 2026 Cadillac vehicles — U.S. EPA and U.S. Department of Energy, fueleconomy.gov2026 Cadillac EV entries, with the onboard charger named in the trim: OPTIQ RWD (11 kW Charger) and (19 kW Charger) 32 kWh/100 mi, 317 mi; OPTIQ AWD both chargers 34 kWh/100 mi, 303 mi; LYRIQ (11 kW Charger) and (19 kW Charger) 37 kWh/100 mi, 326 mi; LYRIQ PAWD 38 kWh/100 mi, 319 mi; LYRIQ AWD 40 kWh/100 mi, 303 mi; VISTIQ (11 kW Charger) 39 kWh/100 mi, 305 mi and (19 kW Charger) 39 kWh/100 mi, 300 mi; CELESTIQ 42 kWh/100 mi, 303 mi. No ESCALADE IQ entry is published. Read 2026-10-07.
  2. All the EVs that use Tesla's NACS plug — CarGurusGM section: GM has the broadest EV lineup of any automaker, including the Cadillac Lyriq, Cadillac Escalade IQ, Chevrolet Blazer EV, Equinox EV, Silverado EV, GMC Hummer EV and GMC Sierra EV. The 2026 Cadillac Optiq and Optiq-V are the first GM models to come standard with a native NACS port; the Optiq has a CCS adapter. Read 2026-10-07.
  3. Electric Vehicle Charging Infrastructure: AC Level 2 equipment — U.S. Department of Energy, Alternative Fuels Data CenterAC Level 2 runs at 240 V in homes, delivers 2.9 to 19.2 kW, adds roughly 25 miles of range per hour of charging, and uses the J1772 or J3400 (NACS) connector. The CCS inlet accepts Level 1, Level 2 and DC fast charging. Read 2026-10-07.

Read next