Skip to content
Plug & Pylon

GMC

The best home charger for a GMC EV

These are the two thirstiest vehicles on this site, and that changes the arithmetic. A charger that is generous for a sedan is merely adequate for a Hummer.

By Sawyer V. · Published October 7, 2026

A black GMC Sierra pickup truck parked on a road beside a concrete wall
Illustrative photo.

How this page is funded: we earn a commission if you buy through our Amazon links, at no extra cost to you. It does not change what we recommend, and we say plainly when the honest answer is to buy nothing. Full disclosure.

The honest verdict first: buy a 48-amp J1772 charger for a GMC EV, and only move up to 80 amps if your Sierra has the 19 kW onboard charger AND your panel has a 100-amp circuit to spare. That is a narrower set of houses than the marketing suggests. But unlike almost every other vehicle on this site, a GMC genuinely can use the top tier -- these trucks consume enough that the extra kilowatts land somewhere real.

What the EPA publishes

GMC EVs as rated by the EPA
TrimOnboard chargerkWh per 100 miEPA range
2026 Sierra EV Extended Range11 kW50410 mi
2026 Sierra EV Standard Range11 kW50283 mi
2026 Sierra EV Extended Range19 kW52385 mi
2025 Hummer EV Pickup, 3X tiresNot stated by the EPA70289 mi
2025 Hummer EV SUV, 3X tiresNot stated by the EPA70289 mi
2025 Hummer EV Pickup or SUV, 2X tiresNot stated by the EPA72282 mi
Source: fueleconomy.gov, read 2026-10-07. The Hummer entries carry no charger size in the EPA trim name, so none is claimed here -- check the charging screen in the car. The 19 kW Sierra is rated slightly thirstier than the 11 kW one, which is the EPA's own figure, not a typo.

Miles added per hour, worked out

The arithmetic, so you can check it

Charger output in kW = amps x 240 V / 1,000. A 40 A charger is 9.6 kW, 48 A is 11.5 kW, 80 A is 19.2 kW.

Miles per hour = charger kW / (kWh per 100 miles) x 100.

Sierra EV at 50 kWh/100 mi on an 11 kW onboard charger: 11 / 50 x 100 = about 22 miles per hour.

Hummer EV at 70 kWh/100 mi on the same 11 kW: 11 / 70 x 100 = about 16 miles per hour.

What each tier adds per hour
Vehicle40 A charger (9.6 kW)11 kW onboard limit19 kW onboard limit
Sierra EV (50 kWh/100 mi)about 19 mi/habout 22 mi/habout 38 mi/h
Sierra EV 19 kW trim (52)about 18 mi/habout 21 mi/habout 37 mi/h
Hummer EV, 3X tires (70)about 14 mi/habout 16 mi/habout 27 mi/h
Hummer EV, 2X tires (72)about 13 mi/habout 15 mi/habout 26 mi/h
The 19 kW column applies only to a car that accepts it. A 40 A charger cannot exceed 9.6 kW whatever the car will take, which is why the first column is the same for both Sierra trims.

Connector and adapters

Both the Sierra EV and the Hummer EV use a CCS inlet, and a J1772 charger plugs into the top half of it directly. GM's native-NACS switch starts with the 2026 Cadillac Optiq, not with the trucks, so there is nothing to adapt at home. Look at your charge port to be sure -- it is the only authoritative answer for your car. Plug types.

Which charger to buy

Who each pick is for
Your situationBuy thisWho should skip it
Sierra or Hummer, normal daily drivingA 48 A J1772 charger on a 60 A circuitNobody. This is the default.
Sierra with the 19 kW charger, 200 A panel with roomAn 80 A hardwired charger on a 100 A circuitAnyone on a 100 or 150 A service, or with an 11 kW car
Towing weekly and turning the truck around same-day80 A, if the panel allows itOwners who charge overnight and leave in the morning
100 A or 150 A panelA 40 or 48 A charger, sized by a load calculationAnyone tempted by 80 A without doing the calculation
A charger draws its rated current continuously, so the breaker is sized at 125% of it: 40 A needs a 50 A circuit, 48 A needs 60 A, 80 A needs 100 A. Breaker and wire size.

If the panel is the obstacle, a charger with load management is the cheaper way out: it shares an existing circuit rather than demanding a new one. Load management explained and the 100 A panel roundup both cover it.

Chargers for a GMC EV

The 80 A units for a 19 kW truck with the panel for it, and the 48 A default for everyone else. Prices are live from Amazon and carry the date they were read.

1. A 19.2 kW car and a large service

Grizzl-E Ultimate 80A

Grizzl-E Ultimate 80A

United Chargers · J1772 · 80 A / 19.2 kW · 25 ft cable

The top of AC Level 2: 80 A and 19.2 kW, hardwired, adjustable down through eight settings. The catch is the circuit -- 80 A continuous asks for a 100 A circuit, which most houses cannot spare.

What is good

  • 80 A / 19.2 kW is the ceiling of AC Level 2 charging
  • Eight current settings, from 80 A right down to 16 A, so one unit fits almost any circuit
  • 25 ft cable and a cast-aluminum UL Type 4 enclosure rated -22 F to 122 F
  • UL listed with a published file number, plus Energy Star certification
  • OCPP support alongside the maker's own app, which is rare at this price

What is not

  • 80 A continuous needs a 100 A circuit, which most homes cannot spare
  • Very few cars accept more than 11.5 kW on AC, so the headline figure is unusable for most buyers
  • Hardwired only -- there is no plug-in version
  • Costs far more than the 48 A tier that most households will actually use
  • 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi only, like the rest of the Grizzl-E Connect range
Published specifications for the Grizzl-E Ultimate 80A
Maximum output80 A / 19.2 kW
Adjustable80, 64, 56, 48, 40, 32, 24 or 16 A
ConnectorSAE J1772 or NACS, chosen at purchase
Cable25 ft (7.6 m)
InstallationHardwired only
EnclosureCast aluminum, UL Type 4 indoor/outdoor
Operating temperature-30 C to +50 C (-22 F to 122 F)
Enclosure size10.25 x 6.25 x 3.75 in
Weight26.46 lb (12 kg), shipped
ConnectivityWi-Fi (2.4 GHz), the Grizzl-E Connect app, and OCPP
Country of originCanada, per United Chargers
CertificationUL, file E510712; Energy Star
In the boxCharger, hardwire kit, mounting cradle, EasyEvPlug
Warranty3 years, or 5 years chosen at purchase

Skip this if: Skip it unless your car actually accepts more than 11.5 kW and your panel can carry a 100 A circuit. Both have to be true, and for most homes neither is.

Specifications above are the manufacturer’s published figures. Source: United Chargers. We have not tested this unit — see how we pick.

$899.00 · View on Amazon#ad how we are funded · price as of October 16, 2026

2. A first charger, hardwired

Emporia Level 2 EV Charger (Classic)

Emporia · J1772 · 48 A / 11.5 kW · 25 ft cable

The safe default for a first home charger: 48 amps hardwired, a genuinely long cable, a NEMA 4 outdoor-rated case, and no subscription attached to the app.

What is good

  • 48 A hardwired is the fastest tier most homes can realistically support
  • 25 ft of cable reaches across a two-car garage without a fight
  • NEMA Type 4 enclosure is rated for outdoor mounting
  • Energy monitoring in the app with no subscription

What is not

  • Drops to 40 A if you use the NEMA 14-50 plug rather than hardwiring
  • The app is the only way to change the amperage setting
Published specifications for the Emporia Level 2 EV Charger (Classic)
Maximum output48 A / 11.5 kW at 240 V (hardwired)
Plug-in output40 A with the NEMA 14-50 plug
ConnectorSAE J1772
Cable25 ft
EnclosureNEMA Type 4, indoor or outdoor
CertificationUL listed, Energy Star
Warranty3 years

Skip this if: Skip it if you want a unit with no app or network connection at all. The Grizzl-E Classic is the simpler machine.

Specifications above are the manufacturer’s published figures. Source: Emporia Energy. We have not tested this unit — see how we pick.

3. 80 A with an app and access control

Autel MaxiCharger AC 80A

Autel MaxiCharger AC 80A

Autel Energy · J1772 · 80 A / 19.2 kW · 25 ft cable

The connected 80-amp charger: 19.2 kW, adjustable all the way down to 6 A from the app, an RFID card reader and a -40 F to 131 F rating. It asks for a 100 A circuit at full output.

What is good

  • 19.2 kW, the ceiling of AC Level 2 charging
  • Adjustable from 6 A to 80 A in the app, so one unit fits almost any circuit
  • Built-in RFID card reader, which is rare outside access-control models
  • Published -40 F to 131 F range, the widest of the 80 A units here
  • Long list of published safety standards plus ENERGY STAR certification

What is not

  • 80 A continuous needs a 100 A circuit, which most homes cannot spare
  • Derates above 113 F, so a hot garage will not see the full figure
  • Hardwired only, with no plug-in version
  • 4G connectivity is an optional extra, not standard
  • Costs far more than the 48 A chargers most households can actually use
Published specifications for the Autel MaxiCharger AC 80A
Maximum output19.2 kW (240 V AC x 80 A)
Adjustable6 A to 80 A, in the app
Voltage208/240 V AC, 60 Hz, single phase
ConnectorSAE J1772 or NACS
Cable19 ft (6 m) or 25 ft (7.5 m)
InstallationHardwired; wall or pedestal mount
EnclosureNEMA 3S, IK10
Operating temperature-40 F to 131 F, derating above 113 F
Ground fault20 mA CCID
Access controlCard reader, ISO 15693 and ISO 14443 A/B
ConnectivityWi-Fi, Ethernet, RS485 and Wi-SUN; 4G optional
MeteringANSI C12.20 (0.5%) compliant
Size14.5 x 8.5 x 5.1 in; 20.3 lb with the 19 ft cable
Warranty3 years, extendable up to 5

Skip this if: Skip it if your panel cannot spare a 100 A circuit or your car tops out at 11.5 kW -- the 48 A tier does the same job for far less.

Specifications above are the manufacturer’s published figures. Source: Autel Energy. We have not tested this unit — see how we pick.

$908.65 · View on Amazon#ad how we are funded · price as of October 16, 2026

FAQ

Questions people actually ask

What size charger does a GMC Sierra EV need?
A 48 A charger on a 60 A circuit covers it: about 22 miles of range per hour at the EPA's 50 kWh per 100 miles. An 80 A charger only helps if your Sierra has the 19 kW onboard charger and your panel can carry a 100 A circuit.
How fast does a Hummer EV charge at home?
About 16 miles of range per hour on an 11 kW onboard charger, from the EPA's 70 kWh per 100 miles. It is the thirstiest vehicle on this site, so the same charger adds fewer miles per hour than it would on a sedan.
Does a GMC EV need a NACS charger?
No. The Sierra EV and Hummer EV use CCS inlets, and a J1772 charger plugs straight in. GM's native NACS rollout begins with the 2026 Cadillac Optiq.
Is an 80 amp charger worth it for an electric truck?
It is the best case for one, because these trucks consume two to three times what a sedan does. It still needs a 100 A continuous circuit, which rules out most 100 and 150 A panels.

Sources

Where these numbers come from

  1. Fuel Economy of 2026 and 2025 GMC vehicles — U.S. EPA and U.S. Department of Energy, fueleconomy.gov2026 GMC: SIERRA EV Ext Range (11kW Charger) 68 MPGe, 50 kWh/100 mi, 410 mi; SIERRA EV Std Range (11kW Charger) 67 MPGe, 50 kWh/100 mi, 283 mi; SIERRA EV Ext Range (19kW Charger) 64 MPGe, 52 kWh/100 mi, 385 mi. 2025 GMC: Hummer EV Pickup and SUV MT Tires 3X 48 MPGe, 70 kWh/100 mi, 289 mi; MT Tires 2X 47 MPGe, 72 kWh/100 mi, 282 mi -- the Hummer entries carry no charger size in the trim name. Read 2026-10-07.
  2. All the EVs that use Tesla's NACS plug — CarGurusGM section: GM has the broadest EV lineup of any automaker, including the Cadillac Lyriq, Cadillac Escalade IQ, Chevrolet Blazer EV, Equinox EV, Silverado EV, GMC Hummer EV and GMC Sierra EV. The 2026 Cadillac Optiq and Optiq-V are the first GM models to come standard with a native NACS port; the Optiq has a CCS adapter. Read 2026-10-07.
  3. Electric Vehicle Charging Infrastructure: AC Level 2 equipment — U.S. Department of Energy, Alternative Fuels Data CenterAC Level 2 runs at 240 V in homes, delivers 2.9 to 19.2 kW, adds roughly 25 miles of range per hour of charging, and uses the J1772 or J3400 (NACS) connector. The CCS inlet accepts Level 1, Level 2 and DC fast charging. Read 2026-10-07.

Read next