Head to head
Lectron V-BOX Pro vs Grizzl-E Classic
Two J1772 chargers that both plug into a 14-50. One adds 8 amps when hardwired and a full app; the other has no app, a longer cable and a tougher case.
By Sawyer V. · Published September 10, 2026

How this page is funded: we earn a commission if you buy through our Amazon links, at no extra cost to you. It does not change what we recommend, and we say plainly when the honest answer is to buy nothing. Full disclosure.
On a NEMA 14-50 these two charge at exactly the same 40 A. The V-BOX Pro's extra 8 amps only arrive if you hardwire it on a 60 A circuit, so the real decision is about the app, the cable and the enclosure.
Side by side
| Lectron V-BOX Pro | Grizzl-E Classic | |
|---|---|---|
| Maximum output | 48 A hardwired; 40 A plug-in | 40 A |
| Settings | 16, 32, 40 or 48 A | 16, 24, 32 or 40 A |
| Connector | SAE J1772 | SAE J1772 |
| Cable | 16 ft | 24 ft on the Extreme Edition |
| Installation | NEMA 14-50 or hardwired | NEMA 14-50 (also sold with 6-50) |
| Enclosure | IP65 | Cast aluminum, NEMA 4 / IP67 |
| App | Wi-Fi or Bluetooth | None, by design |
| Certification | UL 2594 and ETL compliant (per Lectron) | UL certified |
| Warranty | Not stated on the page we read | 3 years |
The differences that matter
- App. The V-BOX Pro schedules and caps charging from your phone; the Grizzl-E has no app, no account and nothing to update. Chargers without an app.
- Cable. 16 ft against 24 ft. Measure your run. Cable length guide.
- Case. IP65 against a cast-aluminum NEMA 4 / IP67 box. Outdoor chargers.
- Hardwiring. Only the V-BOX Pro offers a hardwired 48 A option.
The two, at a glance
Ranked for a first home charger. Every row jumps to the full write-up below.
| # | Product | Best for | Max output | Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Lectron V-BOX Pro Level 2 charger (J1772)App control, plug-in or hardwired. J1772, 16 ft cable. | App control, plug-in or hardwired | 48 A11.5 kW | Check price on Amazon#ad how we are funded |
| 2 | Grizzl-E ClassicHarsh weather and no app. J1772, 24 ft cable. | Harsh weather and no app | 40 A9.6 kW | Check price on Amazon#ad how we are funded |
Both chargers in full
Full specifications and the case against each.
1. App control, plug-in or hardwired
Lectron V-BOX Pro Level 2 charger (J1772)
Lectron · J1772 · 48 A / 11.5 kW · 16 ft cable
A 48-amp J1772 wall unit with app control over Wi-Fi or Bluetooth: 40 A on a NEMA 14-50 or 48 A hardwired, a 16 ft cable and an IP65 enclosure. Lectron describes it as UL 2594 and ETL compliant and ENERGY STAR and FCC certified.
What is good
- Plug-in at 40 A or hardwired at 48 A, from the same unit
- App control over Wi-Fi or Bluetooth, with kilowatt caps and schedules
- IP65 enclosure for indoor or outdoor mounting
- J-hook included for the cable
What is not
- 16 ft cable, shorter than most wall units on this site
- Lectron's wording is 'UL 2594 and ETL compliant' -- check the listing mark on the unit
- Warranty term not stated on the product page we read
| Maximum output | 48 A / 240 V / 11.52 kW |
|---|---|
| Current settings | 16, 32, 40 or 48 A |
| Plug-in | NEMA 14-50, 40 A maximum |
| Hardwired | 48 A maximum |
| Connector | SAE J1772 |
| Cable | 16 ft |
| Enclosure | IP65; coupler IP54 |
| App | Wi-Fi or Bluetooth: schedules, live progress, kilowatt caps |
| Status | V-shaped LED |
| Included | J-hook for the cable |
| Certification | UL 2594 and ETL compliant; ENERGY STAR and FCC certified, per Lectron |
Skip this if: Skip it if your charge port is more than about 16 ft from the wall -- the cable is short -- or if you would rather have no app at all.
Specifications above are the manufacturer’s published figures. Source: Lectron. We have not tested this unit — see how we pick.
2. Harsh weather and no app
Grizzl-E Classic
United Chargers · J1772 · 40 A / 9.6 kW · 24 ft cable
A cast-aluminum box with no app, no account and no firmware to update. If you want a charger that behaves like an appliance, this is the one.
What is good
- Cast aluminum NEMA 4 / IP67 enclosure, built for outdoor mounting
- No app, no account, no network dependency
- Amperage is set with physical switches, not software
- Protections for over-current, over-voltage, ground fault and over-temperature
What is not
- 40 A ceiling, slower than the 48 A units if your panel can take more
- No scheduling, so off-peak charging has to be set in the car
- The cold-flexible 24 ft cable is only on the Extreme Edition
| Maximum output | 40 A / 9.6 kW at 240 V |
|---|---|
| Adjustable | 16, 24, 32 or 40 A |
| Connector | SAE J1772 |
| Cable | 24 ft on the Extreme Edition |
| Enclosure | Cast aluminum, NEMA 4 / IP67 |
| Certification | UL certified |
| Warranty | 3 years |
Skip this if: Skip it if you want scheduled charging or energy tracking in an app. The Classic deliberately has neither.
Specifications above are the manufacturer’s published figures. Source: United Chargers, InsideEVs. We have not tested this unit — see how we pick.
The verdict
Lectron V-BOX Pro for app control, or for a unit you may hardwire at 48 A later. Grizzl-E Classic for a longer cable, a tougher case and a charger with no software at all.
FAQ
Questions people actually ask
Is the Lectron V-BOX Pro or Grizzl-E Classic better?
Which has the longer cable?
Are both charged at the same speed on a 14-50?
Sources
Where these numbers come from
- Lectron Home Level 2 J1772 V-BOX Pro EV Charging Station, Wi-Fi app version, 240 V, 48 A — LectronOutput and settings, 40 A plug-in and 48 A hardwired, J1772, 16 ft cable, IP65 and IP54 ratings, app features, LED, J-hook and certification wording. Read 2026-09-10.
- Grizzl-E Classic — United Chargers
- NEC Article 625: EV charging equipment — WireRefContinuous-load rule behind every circuit figure on this page.
Read next
Related reading
- Lectron V-BOX Pro review48 A hardwired or 40 A plug-in, app control and a 16 ft cable: who Lectron's wall unit suits.
- Grizzl-E Classic40 A, cast aluminum NEMA 4 / IP67, no app. The charger that behaves like an appliance.
- The best plug-in EV chargersPlug-in chargers for a NEMA 14-50: portable, swappable, and capped at 40 amps.
- The best EV chargers with no app and no WiFiChargers with no app, no account and nothing to update, and why that is a feature.